You may have to reset Galaxy S9 or S9+ when the phone does not work as expected.
There are 3 levels of resetting for Galaxy S9 and S9+: reset network settings, reset Galaxy S9 settings (system settings) and factory data reset (FDR) Galaxy S9 or S9+.
This Galaxy S9 guide shows you how to use these three levels of resetting for your Galaxy S9 and S9+, and explains what you should do before trying to factory data reset Galaxy S9 or S9+.
What are the three levels of resetting for Galaxy S9 and S9+?
When you consider resetting Galaxy S9 or S9+, there are three levels of resetting:
- Reset network settings.
- Reset Galaxy S9 settings.
- Factory data reset (FDR).
Factory data reset (FDR, level 3) would erase everything on Galaxy S9 or S9+. You will get a “new ” phone to start with. You must back up all data on Galaxy S9 or S9+ before trying the factory data reset.
But remember, factory data reset will NOT roll back system updates.
Reset Galaxy S9 settings (level 2) removes the system settings added/customized by you, but it does not erase your files and third-party app data.
Reset network settings (level 1) only remove network (mobile, WiFi, Bluetooth) settings. Other settings and user files are untouched. You may use this resetting level when your phone has problems to connect to connect WiFi or mobile networks.
What should you do BEFORE trying Galaxy S9 factory data reset?
If you have to factory data reset Galaxy S9 or S9+, you must be aware that all data and settings will be erased. All apps installed by you will be removed as well.
And there is no undo option.
Before you factory data reset (FDR) for Galaxy S9 or S9+, you should try to finish the following 3 tasks.
- Back up, back up and back up your Galaxy S9 or S9+.
All your data, documents, photos, other media files and apps will be erased.
So, it is important to back up your Galaxy S9 or S9+. You can use the Samsung Cloud and Google Photos to back up Galaxy S9 or S9+ to the cloud.
If you prefer backing up to your PC, you can install Smart Switch on the PC. Then you can back up everything to your PC.
Factory data reset will not erase files on the SD card. But app data … Read the rest